R-House full length mix on Mixcloud

Firstly Happy New Year! What says more like 2013 than a mix of late 1980’s house, jacking, acid house and hip house classics? Nothing that’s what!

I’ve posted my R-House mix many moons before, but strangely not the original 95 minute full version, which I edited down to 65 minutes for the Boots n’ Remixes (RIP) b00mb0x competition all those years ago, adding my LFO-style vocal intro with Rhythmatic – Nu Groove and some samples along the way.

This meant losing classics from the likes of Adonis, Maurice, Joe Smooth, D-Mob, Meat Beat Manifesto, Frankie Knuckles and Marshall Jefferson, and although it probably resulted in a slightly tighter mix (I’ve always found piano-led house has always been a nightmare to mix – never enough exit/entrance gaps and too many harmonic clashes!) and a better intro, I always hated cutting those out.

Those Deep Heat,¬†Thin Ice and DJ International Jackmaster releases specifically were a lifeline in sleepy Surrey to a different world involving soulful songs, burbling basses, chirruping hairspray hi-hats and drum fill-ins that went on for ever…this mix is my love letter to those compilations, and the R-House cassette tapes¬† Kirk used to lend me.

And if you like this try my Acido Amigo mix (which is basically R-House part 2) and In Bleep We Trust Hypno House/Bleep House mixes which is basically what happened next…

Download R-House Full Length mix (95 minutes) or the original 65 minute version.

  • LFO – Intro
  • Steve Silk Hurley – Jack Your Body
  • Jack n’ Chill – Jack that House Built
  • Hithouse – Jack to the Sound of the Underground (Acid mix)
  • Risse – House Train (12″)
  • S’Express – Theme From S’Express (12″)
  • KLF – Last Train to Trancentral
  • Lionel Vinyl – Doctor on the Train
  • The House Doctors – Housedoctors (Gotta Get Down)
  • Beatmasters ft Cookie Crew – Rok Da House
  • Tyree Cooper – Turn up the Bass
  • Beatmasters ft Merlin – Who’s in the House
  • Simon Harris – Bass How Low Can You go
  • Bomb the Bass – Megablast (Hip Hop Assault on Precint 13)
  • Chad Jackson – Hear the Drummer Get Wicked
  • DJ Lumpy – Bring the Humanoid
  • Silvah Bullet – 20 Seconds to Comply (Final Conflict mix)
  • 808 State – In Your Face (mancunian edit)
  • Marshall Jefferson – Move Your Body
  • Joe Smooth – Promised Land
  • Frankie Knuckles – Tears
  • Farley Jackmaster Funk – Love Can’t Turn Around
  • LFO – LFO
  • Meat Beat Manifesto – Acid Again
  • Adonis – No Way Back
  • Maurice – This is Acid (12″ mix)
  • D-Mob Featuring Gary Haisman – We Call It Acieeed
  • B. Charles – Lack of Love (12″)
  • Tuff Little Unit – Join the Future
  • Coldcut – People Hold On
  • DJ Lumpy – You Have To Understand My Short Dick
  • Maurice – I Gotta Big Dick
  • Jamie Principle – Baby Wants To Ride (12″)
  • A Guy Called Gerald – Voodoo Ray (acid mix)
  • Williams Fairey Brass Brand – Voodoo Ray

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.